American Film Scripts OnlineTrade Journals on Microfilm, 1905 to presentSpecial Resources and TopicsRed Scare Filmography
This is the "Home" page of the "Cinema Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cinema Studies  

This guide highlights recommended resources for research in Cinema Studies.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/cinemaStudies Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide Contents

Welcome to the Cinema Studies Guide.  This guide is selective.  It is designed as a starting point that highlights the top recommended resources for research in Cinema Studies. 

Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.

  • Find Articles - search through online databases to find Cinema Studies articles
  • Books - search online catalogs to find books on Cinema Studies 
  • E-Journals - search for Cinema Studies electronic journals 
  • Films - search UW Libraries Catalog and other online databases for films 
  • Film Reviews - search through online databases for film reviews 
  • Topics in Cinema Studies - search for specialized Cinema Studies topics
  • Websites - additional online resources for film research

 

For a complete and easy guide to resources, check out the UW Libraries Guide to Cinema Studies and Film Resources.

 

Announcements

New Database!

Mediático A collectively authored media blog concentrating on research, news, views and perspectives on Latin Americn, Latino/a and Iberian media cultures, with special emphasis on film.

Silent Film Online  Just added (April 2014), 294 titles from the British Film Institute's Mitchell and Kenyon film company collection of non-fiction short silent films from the early 20th century: factory workers, street and harbor scenes, etc.  Also new, "Judex: A Serial in Twelve Episodes," featuring one of cinema's earliest "superheroes, Judex.  Silent Film Online now provides streaming access to hundreds of silent feature films and documentaries, early and contemporary interviews, documentaries, etc.

Worth Reading: The Survival of American Silent Feature Films: 1912-1929, by David Pierce.   This report, made to the Library of Congress and the Council on Library and Information Resources, was commissioned by the National Film Preservation Board.
http://www.loc.gov/film/pdfs/pub158.final_version_sept_2013.pdfThe report lists all silent films from the period known to have survived, as well as the 11,000+ feature films known to have been produced.  Over two thirds of the films have not been found.  For location information on the archival film holdings identified by Pierce, see:
http://www.loc.gov/film/

________________
 
 



.

 

Related Libraries, Subjects, & Pages

Related Subjects

Related Libraries

UW Departments

UW Cinema Studies Course Help Pages

Audio & Video

Communication

Comparative Literature

Drama

English

Women Studies

Media Center Cinema Studies Program

Comparative Literature

Spring Quarter 2014:

CLit 596A/Eng544/GWSS590 Spring 2014

 

Class Guides from Previous Quarters:

 CLit 310 History of Cinema, 1895-1929Emphasis is on the development, both technical and aesthetic, of filmmaking during the silent era.

CLit 312A History of Cinema, 1959-1988  Examines mid-century filmmaking from Beat to French New Wave, cinema in  Argentina, Britain, Brazil, India, France and more

CLit 315A / SPAN 334A / SISLA 490A   Contemporary Latin American Cinema, focusing on terror and memory

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Glenda Pearson and Barbara
Contact Info
Microform & Newspaper Collections Unit
Ground Floor, Suzzallo Allen Library
University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900
Seattle, Washington 98195
206.685.1645
Send Email
 

What's New?

 

Mediático A collectively authored media blog concentrating on research, news, views and perspectives on Latin Americn, Latino/a and Iberian media cultures, with special emphasis on film.

Media History Digital Library: This database provides searchable access to a large number of trade journals, published during most of the 20th century.

Silent Film Online: Just added, hundreds more early 20th century British documentary shorts, more feature films and other interesting materials pertinent to the study of silent film.  Streaming video collection covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

 

Guide to Cinema Studies and Film Resources (PDF)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip