BooksGovernment DocumentsImagesLetters & DiariesMagazinesMapsNewspapersOral Histories
Africa Asia Australia & New Zealand Britain & Ireland Canada Europe Latin America Middle East United States 
African American Ancient Biography Family History History of Medicine Medieval Women 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

History 

History research guide
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspapers             Print Page
  
 

Newspapers as Primary Sources

Newspapers are a primary source providing a first rough draft of events. Since most newspapers are local in scope, there is good coverage of local issues. Newspapers also provide a good feel for the time period.

Most older newspapers do not include indexing. Usually you will need to browse through issues of a newspaper to discover its content.

Help: Analyzing a Colonial Newspaper, Analyzing Newspapers & Newspapers

 

Selected Newspapers on Microfilm

The UW Libraries has an extensive collection of historic newspapers on microfilm housed in the Microform and Newspaper Collections, located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library.  The best way to identify available newspapers on microfilm is to use the card catalog in the Microform and Newspaper Collections. You can also search the UW Libraries Catalog for the newspaper.  Printers and scanners are available to make copies.

Selected list of microfilmed newspapers.

Local

Seattle Times, 1895 to present - A419
Seattle PI, 1888-2009  - A329
Tacoma News Tribune, 1869 to present - A3952, A3953

National

Atlanta Constitution, 1868-2001 - A6747
San Francisco Chronicle, 1869 to present - A3432
Washington Post, 1877 to present - A879

International

Japan Times, 1897-2001 - A10199
Manchester Guardian, 1828 to present - A597
Times of India, 1861-2003 - A5725

 

Digitized Historic Newspapers

This page includes links to UW restricted digitized historic newspapers and selected freely available digitized newspapers. To find additional freely available digitized historic newspapers see ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. Additional collections of this type of primary source can be found under the tabs for History by Region and History by Topic.

For contemporary newspaper coverage (roughly since 1990) see the News subject guide.

 

Using Google News Archive

Google News has a newspaper archive search which provides access to a number of past issues of newspapers.  Unfortunately Google does not provide a list of these newspapers.  The Google News Archive Search finds articles from proprietary newspapers (where you have to pay to see the article) and to free archives of newspapers.  To search the Google News Archive use the following search example.  You can limit your search by date, source (name of the newspaper, e.g., Spokane Daily Chronicle), and if you want just free material.

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait