BooksGovernment DocumentsImagesLetters & DiariesMagazinesMapsNewspapersOral Histories
Africa Asia Australia & New Zealand Britain & Ireland Canada Europe Latin America Middle East United States 
African American Ancient Biography Family History History of Medicine Medieval Women 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

History 

History research guide
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Search both America History & Life and Historical Abstracts for Articles

Search
This combined search of America History & Life and Historical Abstracts identifies secondary sources -- scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations on modern history since 1450. Each database can also be searched separated: America History & Life (American and Canadian history) and Historical Abstracts (modern world history excluding the United States and Canada).

Additional Databases to Find Articles

The two databases listed above are the major databases for modern history (the period from 1450 to the present).  Additional, more specialized databases to scholarly journal articles can be found under the tabs for History by Region and History by Topic.

 
 

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are descriptions, analyses and interpretations of the past based on evidence provided by primary sources and written by historians. Secondary sources are published as books (sometimes called monographs), chapters in books, scholarly journal articles and dissertations.

 

How to Find the Article

If the fulltext of the article is not available directly in a database such as America History & Life, then click on the purple Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need.  If there is no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait