Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

South Asian Studies 

Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/SouthAsia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

 
 

Find Article Databases by Title or Subject

This page offers access to databases that are starting points for finding the articles relevant to the interdisciplinary study of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

You may also want to explore this complete alphabetized list of all specialized databases for various subjects, available through the UW Libraries:

 http://www.lib.washington.edu/types/databases/

Or browse all available specialized databases by subject area:

http://guides.lib.washington.edu/

Starting Points for South Asian Studies Resources

This page offers access to databases that are starting points for finding the articles relevant to the interdisciplinary study of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  
    Indexes articles and book chapters, including many South Asian publications not covered by other databases. Browse journal lists to see the time periods covered.
    [UW restricted]
  • Project Muse  
    A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press Journals on-line with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full text articles.
    [UW restricted]
  • JSTOR  
    A subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.
    [UW restricted]
  • IndiaStat  
    Statistical information on India from a variety of sources. Please click on "IP Login" in upper right hand corner to access the database after clicking on IndiaStat.
    [UW restricted]
  • More Databases  

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)

Search query:
 

What databases are most helpful for your research? (Interactive Poll)

Bibliography Of Asian Studies
JSTOR
Project Muse
IndiaStat

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDeepa Banerjee
Contact Info:
Suzzallo Reference, Room 138, Suzzallo Library 1st Floor
206-685-1433
Send Email

Subjects:
South Asian Studies

 

Need Help? Chat with a Librarian (Collapsible Qwidget ex.)

Click to IM a UW librarian
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait