Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Bioengineering 

This is a guide for doing research in Bioengineering. You will find links to recommended databases to help you find articles, books and websites in this subject area.
Last update: Sep 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/bioengineering  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles & Conference Papers            Print Page
  

Search Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

 

Starting Points for Bioengineering

  • Engineering Village 2 (Compendex and Inspec)  
    Comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of all fields of engineering. Includes journal abstracts and links to full-text, as well as website abstracts for evaluated web sites, patent information, and handbooks for technical engineering information. Compendex covers 1884 to the present. Inspec covers 1988 to the present with select content back to 1950. (databases may be searched separately or in combination)
    [UW restricted]
  • Materials Research Database with METADEX  
    This database brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Coverage includes 1966-current.
    [UW restricted]
  • Medline (EBSCO)  
    MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
    [UW restricted]
  • PubMed  
    U.S. National Library of Medicine biomedical journal literature search system, including the MEDLINE database and other resources. 1966 to the present.
  • SciFinder Scholar  
    Covers all areas of chemistry as well as related disciplines, including materials. Allows users to search the extensive Chemical Abstracts Databases.
    [UW restricted]
  • More Engineering, Scientific & Technical Databases  
 
 

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait