Bibliographies from WorldCatCitations: Easy Copy/PasteDissertations and ThesesE-BooksEBSCO DatabasesFind Background InfoFind DVDs & VideoFull-Text ArticlesGet help 24/7Google ScholarGoogle: Boolean Operators & Phrase SearchingGoogle: Domain LimitsOff-Campus AccessProxy BookmarkletRefWorks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

How Do I...?  Tags: help tutorials google fulltext citations general  

Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/howdoi  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dissertations and Theses             Print Page
  
 

How do I find full-text Dissertations and Theses?

Find dissertations and theses written at any institution and also specifically by UW students | Transcript | Time - 02:43

more tutorials >


Loading Video Clip...
 

Transcript

How do I find full-text Dissertations and Theses?

Need to find a dissertation but not sure where to start?  First I’ll describe how to go about searching for dissertations and theses written at any institution.  Then, I’ll describe how to locate dissertations written by UW students.

With your UW NetID, you have access to the Proquest Dissertations FullText database, which includes more than 1 million fulltext dissertations.

To access this database, start at the UW Libraries homepage and click more in the find it box, then Dissertations and Theses, and then click on the Dissertation Abstracts/Proquest Dissertations Fulltext link.

If you’re off-campus, don’t forget to log in to the Libraries site before clicking on the database link.

Once in the database, you can search for dissertations by keyword, title, author and more.  Clicking on More Search Options allows you to specify at which school the dissertation was written, language and more.  To explore more search features, click on the Help link in the upper right hand corner.

When you find a dissertation you are interested in, select the full text pdf link to save, print or email a copy.  If you find a dissertation that you need, but there is not a full text link, you may place an Interlibrary Loan request to receive a printed copy. You can connect to Interlibrary Loan via the UW Libraries home page.

Or, for those citations which provide you with an Order a copy link, you may pay to order a copy in various formats.  Prices and delivery times vary.

To find dissertations and theses written by UW students, use the UW-only Catalog, linked from the Libraries home page.

You can search by author, title, or to search for dissertations written in a specific department, select Gener/Form and type "theses" followed by the department.  For example, “theses anthropology”.

To search for dissertations and theses by topic, use the keywords search and combine the phrase "theses and" followed by a topical keyword(s).  For instance, “theses and salmon habitat.” 

The catalog will tell you in which unit the dissertation is held, along with a call number and whether it is available for checkout. 

Remember, if you get stuck or have any questions, contact a UW Librarian by clicking on the “Ask Us” link on the UW Libraries homepage.

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait