Bibliographies from WorldCatCitations: Easy Copy/PasteDissertations and ThesesE-BooksEBSCO DatabasesFind Background InfoFind DVDs & VideoFull-Text ArticlesGet help 24/7Google ScholarGoogle: Boolean Operators & Phrase SearchingGoogle: Domain LimitsOff-Campus AccessProxy BookmarkletRefWorks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

How Do I...?  Tags: help tutorials google fulltext citations general  

Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/howdoi  Print Guide  RSS Updates

RefWorks             Print Page
  
 

How do I set up and use RefWorks to keep track of my citations?

RefWorks is a tool that you can use to keep track of your citations and automatically create bibliographies. Access your RefWorks account with your UW NetID. | Transcript | Time - 02:35

more tutorials >


Loading Video Clip...
 

Transcript

How do I set up and use RefWorks to keep track of my citations?

When you’re working on an assignment, paper, or dissertation, do you find it hard to keep track of all the information you have found?

Do you have trouble citing the articles and books you are using?

Using RefWorks to manage the books, journal articles, websites, and other materials you have collected in your research can make correctly citing references and creating bibliographies a snap.

Current UW students, faculty, and staff can access RefWorks from the Libraries homepage. Under Library Tools and Widgets, click on Citation Tools.

Librarians have gathered and created many tools to help you write papers and cite resources. RefWorks is one helpful citation tool, but you can also try EndNote Web, KnightCite, or Zotero.

Let’s take a look at RefWorks – click on the RefWorks link under Citation Tools.

The RefWorks page has more information about how to maximize your use of RefWorks.

OK, let’s login and see what you can do with RefWorks. Click on the RefWorks login.

RefWorks uses your UW NetID, so this should look familiar.

Here is what a RefWorks page looks like when citations have been added. The first time you log in to RefWorks though, you will not have any references added – you will be able to add those from many databases, library catalogs, and even websites.

You can organize the citations you gather while you research by creating folders for different projects, classes, or topics.

In each folder you can gather references, organize them, and edit their information. Many databases, library catalogs, and even Google Scholar, allow you to export directly to RefWorks. Let’s take a look.

This is a page in a database with information about an article. If you want to save the info about this article so that you can find it again or cite it in your paper, export it to RefWorks.

Now your article is added to Refworks. You can also add books and articles to RefWorks from UW WorldCat.

With RefWorks, you can automatically pull together a list of citations anc create a Bibliography in the citation style of your choice. To do this, click on Bibliography, choose your style (here I’ll choose APA), select what folder of references you want to use, and how you’d like to create the file (here I’ll choose to create a Word document). Then hit “Create Bibliography”.

Remember, if you get stuck or have any questions, contact a UW Librarian by clicking on the “Ask Us” link on the Libraries homepage.

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait