Printers / Mobile / ScreenreadersResources for beginning research in American Ethnic Studies.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009
URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/american_ethnic_studies
Print Guide
The Asian American almanac
Includes more than 20 Asian American ethnic groups experiences, covering immigration patterns, culture, employment, and more.
Asian American Encyclopedia
Provides more than 2,000 entries on Asian life, culture, and history in the United States.
Asian American health
This Web resource sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to increase public awareness of the health concerns of these important minority groups, who are major contributors to our society's economy, innovation, and vibrancy. Links are provided to an assortment of documents, web sites, databases, and other resources.
Distinguished Asian Americans
This biographical dictionary features profiles of 166 distinguished Asian Americans and their significant contributions to American society.
The Encyclopedia of Japanese American history
This reference source is organized into four sections: a historical overview by Gary Okihiro, a distinguished scholar of Japanese American history; a chronology of major events in Japanese American history; encyclopedic entries on significant individuals, organizations, events, and movements; and an annotated bibliography of 100 major works. The encyclopedia features more than 400 entries on a wide range of topics.
Notable Asian Americans
This source contains 250 biographical sketches on noteworthy Asian Americans, both living and deceased, from all fields of endeavor.
Who's who among Asian Americans
Provides a list of contemporary Asian-American leaders from all occupations and ethnic and cultural subgroups.