Printers / Mobile / ScreenreadersResources for beginning research in American Ethnic Studies.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009
URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/american_ethnic_studies
Print Guide
African American almanac
Provides historical and current information on African American politics, society and culture.
African American experience
Provides a bibliographical and analytical guide to the growing body of literature as well as an analysis of how the study of African Americans has changed.
African Americans in film
A Bibliography of materials in the UC Berkeley Library on African Americans in the movies.
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
Provides over 3500 headword entries and 2 million words of text. One thousand illustrations including maps and photographs are also included. Extended essays on principal themes by world-renowned scholars.
Almanac of African American heritage
A book of lists featuring people, places, times, and events that have shaped Black culture.
Black drama: 1850 to present
Contains plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Black women in America, an historical encyclopedia
Provides entries covering culture, movements and historical periods, groups and organizations, politics, and occupations.
Concise Oxford companion to African American literature
Provides more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works. An earlier edition is available in paper in Suzzallo Library
Database of African-American poetry, 1760-1900
This database covers the work of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Encyclopedia of African American culture and history
2,300 entries covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day.
Encyclopedia of African American society
Two-volume encyclopedia explores how the foundations of African American culture have influenced today’s society. Aphabetically arranged essays on numerous topics.
Encyclopedia of Black studies
Provides analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem renaissance
The Encyclopedia is arranged from A-Z and consists of 639 entries by over 260 leading historians, scholars, artists, and writers, from 500 to 5,000 words and include useful bibliographies for suggestions for further reading and research. Extensive cross-references for each entry guiding the reader to related topics are included.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem literary renaissance
Provides 800 alphabetically arranged articles on writers, their works, periodicals, editors, publishers, critics, and related topics.
Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature
Topical list of over 1000 articles that provide coverage of the foundations, development, and proliferation of African American literature, from the colonial period to the present.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Articles by scholars and core content that includes: Africana;;Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography