African AmericanAsian AmericanChicanoStatistical Facts and Figures
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American Ethnic Studies  Tags: cultural_studies ethnic_studies african_american asian_american chicano latino  

Resources for beginning research in American Ethnic Studies.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/american_ethnic_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Need Help? Chat with a Librarian (Collapsible Qwidget ex.)

Click to IM a UW librarian

Selected Web Sites

 
 

Selected Reference Sources - Broad Coverage

  • Dictionary of race and ethnic relations
  • Provides detailed definitions of terms and their historical origins.

  • The Encyclopedia of ethnic groups in hollywood
  • African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans in film.

  • Encyclopedia of civil rights in America
  • Provides coverage of human rights and civil liberties legally recognized in the United States. The 677 entries discuss civil rights issues from varied perspectives, and includes such broad topics as race, gender, age, medical status or conditions, physical and mental challenges, group membership, and religion.

  • Encyclopedia of multiculturalism
  • This resource examines American history and society through the experience of diverse groups whose concerns and contributions have often been overlooked.

  • Encyclopedia of multicultural education
  • Provides general overviews, summaries, and topical descriptions of multicultural education. Also available in electronic format

  • Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society
    A comprehensive look at the role race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives.

  • Gale virtual reference library
  • Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science in ebook format.

      Multicutural Studies included in the Gale Virtual Reference Library:
    • African American almanac
    • Provides historical and current information on African American politics, society and culture.

    • Encyclopedia of Black studies
    • Provides analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent.

    • Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America  1995 Edition | 1997 Edition | Online.
    • The Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.

  • Harvard encyclopedia of American ethnic groups
  • It is a guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States.

  • Encyclopedia of the world's minorities
  • The Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities is a three-volume, A-Z encyclopedia, with some 600 essay entries that provide quick and clearly written introductions to minority groups and the themes and concepts that help readers to understand the issues. Entries, ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words, fall into four main categories: Minority, Topical, Biographical, and Country.

  • Literature Online
  • An extensive collection of criticism and reference works, including full-text literary journals and resources for over 14,000 authors.  Includes cross-searchable fulltext databases for several periods, including: African-American poetry 1760-1900 and Twentieth-century African-American poetry.

     
    Libraries Home
    Contact Us/Comments
    © 2009 University of Washington Libraries
    Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
    phone: 206-543-0242
    Description

      Loading content... please wait