African AmericanAsian AmericanChicanoStatistical Facts and Figures
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American Ethnic Studies  Tags: cultural_studies ethnic_studies african_american asian_american chicano latino  

Resources for beginning research in American Ethnic Studies.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/american_ethnic_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 
 

Browse/Search Article Databases

Browse database title: A-B | C-D | E-F | G-H | I-J | K-L | M-N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-V | W-Z


Advanced Search

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the box below, and to the right, are some selected databases for finding articles on ethnic studies topics.

Starting Points for American Ethnic Studies

  • Academic Search Complete  
    Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
    [UW restricted]
  • America: History and Life  
    Scholarly sources in American and Canadian history
    [UW restricted]
  • Black Studies Center  
    Scholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers.
    [UW restricted]
  • Academic OneFile  
    Full-text access to scholarly and general interest periodicals in all disciplines
    [UW restricted]
 

More Tools for Finding Articles

Additional databases for finding articles related to topics in American Ethnic Studies

[UW restricted]

  • Alt-Press Watch  
    Full-text articles from alternative and independent press sources
  • APS Online  
    Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals. Good application for finding primary sources.
  • Biblography of Asian Studies  
    Articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia
  • CQ Researcher  
    Full-text access to indepth articles covering a wide range of issues. A good source for finding opposing viewpoints.
  • eHRAF  
    Collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject.
  • HAPI Online  
    Articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals.
  • Literature Resource Center  
    Literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms
 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait