Encyclopedic Reference Sources
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information.
The [UW restricted] icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. Click on the red outlined "off-campus access (log in)" button in the upper right corner of most pages on the website to gain access to restricted resources
- African Folklore: An Encyclopedia
- Daily Life Online [UW restricted]
- Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
- Encyclopedia of African & African-American Religions
- Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
- Encyclopedia of African Literature
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures
- Europa World [UW restricted]
- Gale Virtual Reference [UW restricted]
- Oxford Reference Online [UW restricted]
- Pop Culture Universe [UW restricted]
Finding Statistics
United Nations Statistical Division - Databases include a wide range of socio-economic indicators.
World Development Indicators - World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. [UW restricted]
SourceOECD - Wide range of economic statistics.
Lexis/Nexis Statistical - Indexes and abstracts statistical information in three databases: U.S. government (ASI). State and Private (SRI), and International Inter-governmental organizaions (IIS).[UW restricted]
Need Help? Chat with a Librarian (Collapsible Qwidget ex.)
Selected Reference Sources
These resources provide background information that can help you define unfamiliar terms, clarify issues, locate quick biographical information, verify dates and events, and locate statistical data.
- Afrikan alphabets
- Afrikan alphabets have a long history, fantastic variety, and some continue to be in current use today. They are comparatively little known due largely to their suppression by colonial powers.
- Africa maps
- Maps of Africa
- Africa south of the Sahara
- An explicit one-volume guide to all sub-Saharan African countries, providing invaluable economic, historic, and directory data. Also available through [UW restricted] Europa world
- African studies companion
- Provides over 1,900, for the most part extensively annotated entries. The Companion covers both print and online resources on African studies, and includes an annotated directory of over 200 African studies periodicals.
- Background notes
- Country reports compiled by the U.S. Dept. of State.
- Bureau of African affairs
- United States Dept. of State, advises the Secretary and guides the operation of the U.S. diplomatic establishment in the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa. Former Assistant Administrator for Africa of the U.S. Agency for International Development
- Electronic journal of Africana bibliography
- A refereed online journal of bibliographies created by the late John Howell, University of Iowa Libraries. Coverage includes any aspect of African cultural, economic, educational, and political life.
- Embassies around the world
- Embassy World provides a list of contact resources for all of the world's diplomatic offices.
- Foreign-Born Population-Profile
- Presents data on a wide range of geographic, demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics for the foreign-born population of the United States. Data for the native population are included for comparison.
- [UW restricted] Global development finance
- GDF Online, provides current and time series debt and other financial data by country. GDF is for more specialized research.
- Key events in African history
- This reference guide to African history provides substantive entries on 36 events that shaped the history of the continent from the prehistoric past to the dawn of the 21st century. Includes bibliographical references and index
- [UW restricted] Reference guide to Africa: a bibliography of sources
- Electronic access to African studies research mainly in the humanities and social sciences. The introductory sections cover African studies indexes, bibliographies, handbooks, guides and directories as well as electronic sources and Internet web sites. The continuing chapters deal with specific types of materials such as statistics, current events, biography, primary sources, and government publications. The main body of the work is an annotated overview of sources for seventeen disciplines in the humanities and social sciences, and agriculture and ecology. Includes bibliographical references and indexes. Also available in print Reference guide to Africa.
- Internet living Swahili dictionary
- The Internet Living Swahili Dictionary is a collaborative work by people all over the world.
- Swahili and other African languages from Yourdictionary.com
- yourDictionary.com is a language products and services company that maintains the most comprehensive and authoritative language portal on the web with more than 2500 dictionaries and grammars in over 300 languages, games that build language skills, and a forum (The Agora) for discussing language issues with the logophile community.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait