Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

African Studies  Tags: africa horn_of_africa sub-saharan gobalization colonialism international_studies area_studies human_rights  

A gateway to research on Africa.
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/African_Studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

 
 

Browse/Search Article Databases

Browse database title: A-B | C-D | E-F | G-H | I-J | K-L | M-N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-V | W-Z


Advanced Search

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the box below, and to the right, are some selected databases for finding articles on topics in Africa.

Starting Points for African Studies

The [UW restricted] icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. Click on the red outlined "off-campus access (log in)" button in the upper right corner of this guide and most pages on the website to gain access to restricted resources

  • Academic OneFile  
    Scholarly and general interest articles
    [UW restricted]
  • AfricaBib.com  
    Bibliography of Africana periodical literature.
  • AJOL (African Journals Online)  
    Journal articles published in Africa, covering a full range of issues and subjects, some full-text.
  • African Studies Online  
    Summaries of journal articles covering Africa.
  • PAIS International  
    Covers social and public policy literature.
    [UW restricted]
  • More information  
    Additional databases for finding articles related to topics in African Studies. Click the info icon.
 
 

No Digital Article Available

If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as PAIS International, then click on the purple Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need. If there is no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.

 

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

thumbnail of Google Scholar video Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

 
Libraries Home
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

  Loading content... please wait