Research Guides
English 198A Interdisciplinary Writing/Social Science (fall 2012): Find Background Information
English independent writing course linked to Introduction to Asian American Cultures (AAS 101) and Asian American History (HSTAA 205). Instructor Su-ching Wang
Encyclopedia of Daily Life
This reference source provides historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information.
UW WorldCat
Books are a great source for finding detailed information on an issue or topic. Use UW WorldCat to find books and more.
Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information.
The [UW restricted] icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. If you are connecting remotely, click on the red outlined [off-campus access (log in)] button in the upper right corner of most pages on the website to gain access to restricted resources
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting daily life through history
- Gale EBooks
- This link opens in a new window
More than 100 special encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference resources covering all subjects.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting popular culture of the 20th century
Other Background Sources
Country and background studies provide contextual information and can be used to identify search terms for finding additional information.
- Country StudiesAnalysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world fron the Library of Congress.
- Background NotesCountry reports compiled by the U.S. Dept. of State
- Europa World Online [UW restricted]More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects
Librarian
Harry Murphy
Contact:
Currently working a hybrid schedule
*Office Hours
Odegaard Writing & Research Cntr. (OWRC) Zoom appointments only:
Thu 2-3:30 pm
American Ethnic Studies related Zoom appointments:
Mon 11-Noon
Tue 11-Noon
Wed 11-Noon
Unfamiliar with Zoom?
Phone: 206-616-5296
Skype Contact: hmaurice56