Research Guides
NEAR E 210 - Introduction to the Qur'an (Spring 2015): Home (NEAR E 210)
Resources relating to the Qur'an and Islam
What's in the Research Guide?
This research guide lists some of the resources that you may want to use to look up terms to be discussed in class or to find information for your assignments.
Have questions or need research help? Please contact Mary St. Germain, the Near East librarian, by email at marys@uw.edu
Sources for Terms and Definitions
Histories and Broader Works on Islamic Regions and Civilization
Sources for Terms and Definitions
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Also in:
Suzzallo Referece: DS37 .E5 (1st ed.)
OUGL Reference, Suzzallo Reference and Bothell Reference:
DS37 .E5 1960 (2nd ed.)
These are resources standardly used by researchers working on Islam to find definitions of terms and background information.
- Encyclopaedia IranicaOr in Suzzallo Reference:
DS253 .E53 1982 - Islamic desk reference [electronic resource] [UW restricted]A selection of abridged articles on Islam from the Encyclopaedia of Islam. Useful for quick reference.
- The Columbia world dictionary of IslamismOlivier Roy and Antoine Sfeir, editors ; English edition translated, edited, and adapted by John King. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007. Suzzallo Stacks BP40 .D5313 2007
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world [UW restricted]Also in:
Suzzallo Reference, DS35.53.O96 2009 - Encyclopaedia of the QurʼānJane Dammen McAuliffe, general editor. Leiden : Brill, 2001-2006. 5 v. Suzzallo Reference. BP133 .E53 2001
- Medieval Islamic civilization : an encyclopediaJosef W. Meri, editor. New York : Routledge, 2006. Also in: Suzzallo Reference. DS36.85 .M434 2006
- A popular dictionary of IslamIan Richard Netton. London : Curzon Press, 1997. OUGL Reference, Suzzallo Stacks, BP40 .N48 1997
- The Qurʼan : an encyclopediaedited by Oliver Leaman. London : Routledge, 2006. Suzzallo Reference, Bothell Reference and Tacoma Reference. BP133 .Q87 2006
- Sourdel, Dominique.A glossary of Islam. Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, 2007. Suzzallo Stacks. BP40. S6813 2007
Databases Useful for Islam
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation only database. Index Islamicus is the only database that focusses 100% on the Middle East. It covers some, but not all Western language journals published in the U.S. and Europe, and some books. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy to go directly to a country via a world map. Relies heavily on BBC.
- ALTAFSIR.comA project by the Royal Aal al-Bayt Institute for Islamic Thought in Jordan that provides the original Arabic texts of 110 or more books of Qur’anic Commentary, Interpretation and Explanation, and continues to work on adding English translations.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text databases. Use for articles on Islam, Judaism, etc. Includes citations on archaeology & antiquities, Bible, church history, human culture & society, missions & ecumenism, pastoral ministry, philosophy & ethics, religious studies, theology, world religions; coverage 1949-current. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for 2.4 million dissertation and theses from 1861 to present day with more than 1 million full text dissertations that are available to download in PDF format. Each year more than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database. - Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A shared digital repository for U.S. universities. It is still in the early stages of construction. For more recent books, it is similar to Google Books. For books in the public domain, including many books and journals in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish, are available full text.
- JSTOR [UW restricted]Full text database covering back runs of journals usually up through three to five years before the current year.
- PAIS International [UW restricted]Citation plus abstract, political, social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering journals and books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Strong in publications of University presses.
- Qur'anA website that provides all of the major translations of the Qur'an in English and many other languages, and gives grammatical analysis for all words.
- sunnah.comWebsite with Hadith collections in English, Arabic and Indonesian.
Histories and Broader Works on Islamic Regions and Civilization
- Cambridge Histories Online [UW restricted]See Arabic Literature under Literary Studies; history of Egypt, Iran and Turkey under Regional History and Islam under Religious Studies. There is now a "New" history of Islam as well as the older History of Islam.
- Near East Research GuideFor coverage of a broader range of subjects and resources, and for references in the languages of the Middle East, see the complete Near East Subject Guide.
Near East and Jewish Studies Librarian
Mary St. Germain
Contact:
Room 133, Suzzallo Library
206-543-9517
206-543-9517
Subjects: Near East Studies, Religion