Research in Bibliography, Textual Studies & Book History: Finding Articles

Use the following Research Databases on the UW Libraries website to find articles in scholarly journals and magazines.

• MLA International Bibliography - UW restricted
  An index to critical materials on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Covers periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Materials indexed date back to 1925.
• Library & Information Science Abstracts - UW restricted
  Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers publications from 1969 to the present.
• American Periodicals Series online, 1740-1900 - UW restricted
  American Periodicals Series Online includes full-pages images of more than 1,000 18th, 19th and early 20th century American magazines such as the Liberator, American Monthly Knickerbocker and Niles' Weekly Register.
• British Periodicals Online - UW restricted
  Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.

“To students of literature and history, bibliography means primarily the study of books as material objects.  To this sir Walter Greg appended a further definition, calling bibliography the science of the transmission of literary documents; and by transmission he meant not only the genealogy and relationship of variant texts, but also the evolution of particular texts in the processes of their production and reproduction (Gaskell,  A New Introduction to Bibliography, 1).”