What is on this List
This is an A to Z listing of history-related digitized collections of primary sources that are UW-Restricted (those with the
icon). These collections include digitized backfiles of single titles (e.g., Seattle Times or Economist) as well as more comprehensive collections (e.g., British Periodicals or the US Congressional Serial Set). Formats include newspapers, magazines, government documents, images, video and manuscript material. English is the predominant language but there are collections in other languages including Spanish and Korean.
These digitized collections -- as well as other collections of primary material including those freely available on the web, in print, and on microfilm -- are linked under the various regional and topical history guides.
A to Z List

- African American Newspapers
Seven antebellum papers- African Newspapers
More than 50 newspapers published from the 19th to early 20th centuries- America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Series II)
More than 50 19th century newspapers- American Periodicals
18th, 19th and early 20th c. US magazines- American State Papers
US Congressional material dating from 1789 to 1838- Ancestry
Genealogical records such as census, immigration & military records plus lots more- AP Images
Current and historic photographs from the Associated Press- ARTFL Project
Collection of classical French writings including literary and political works- ARTstor
Art and architectural images with some historic photographs- Baltimore Afro American 1893-1988
African American newspaper from 1893-1988- Black Studies in Video
Collection includes documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage- British Periodicals
18th, 19th and early 20th c. British magazines- Burney Collection
17th and 18th century British newspapers- Chicago Defender 1905-1975
African American newspaper from 1905 to 1975- Choson Ilbo Archive 1920-
Korean newspaper from 1920 to the present- Classic Mexican Cinema
5 major Mexican film magazines including Cinelandia (1931-1947)- CQ Researcher
Issue oriented magazine from 1923 to the present- Digital National Security Archive
More than 43,000 declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions- Early American Imprints
Books published in colonial and early America between 1600 and 1800- Early English Books Online
Books published in England between the years 1470 and 1700- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
Magazine from 1843 to 2006- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Books published in England between 1701 and 1800- Electronic Enlightenment
Correspondence of major Enlightenment figures such as David Hume, Voltaire and John Locke- Empire Online
Documents and other primary sources dealing primarily with the British Empire- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Core 20th c. US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting & theater- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic newspapers mostly from the 1990s onward with limited coverage from 1960-1990- FBIS Daily Reports Latin America 1974-1996
Foreign Broadcast Information Services summaries and translations of news sources- Filmakers Library
Over 1000 documentaries dating from 1980-2011- Greensboro Massacre, 1979
Police, local and federal documents dealing with the murder of civil rights activists by the Klan- Hein Online
Congressional Record, Supreme Court decisions plus law reviews- History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
Civil rights relate manuscript collections of federal agencies, organizations and individuals- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
19th and 20th century UK Parliamentary Papers- Human Rights Documents Online
Documents from more than 450 human rights organizations dating back to 1980- Ilche ha chŏnsi chʻejegi chŏngchʻaek saryo chʻongsŏ
Collection of primary sources dealing with the Japanese occupation- India, Raj & Empire
18th and 19th century colonial papers & records- iPoll Databank
US national opinion surveys, 1935 - present- Japanese-American relocation camp newspapers
Newspapers including Minidoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, etc.- Korean Database
Korean Texts including Koryosa, Parhaesa, Chungbo Munhon Pigo and more- Kyongsong Ilbo 1907-1945
Korean newspaper during the Japanese occupation; Japanese title: Keijo nippo- Latin American Newspapers
More than 35 newspapers published from the 19th to early 20th centuries- LGBT Studies in Video
Collection includes documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage- Los Angeles Times 1881-1987
Newspaper from 1881-1987- Nature 1869-
Major science journal from 1869 to the present- New York Times 1851-2008
Newspaper from 1851 to 2008- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's diaries and letters dating from the colonial period to the mid-20th c.- Paley Center iCollection
Steaming video of over 15,000 historic television shows, news and advertisements- Patrologia Latina
Writings of early Church fathers in Latin- Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
Colonial newspaper from 1728 to 1800- People's Daily Online, 1947-
Chinese newspaper from 1947 to the present- Personal justice denied: Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment
Unpublished hearings of the commission including those held in Seattle in 1981- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002
African American newspaper from 1911 to 2002- Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945
Records of the British-run municipal police force from 1894 to 1945- Proquest Congressional
Index to Congressional publications; includes fulltext hearings from 1824-1979- Scripta Sinica
More than 400 Chinese classics- Seattle Times 1900-1984
Newspaper from 1900 to 1984- South Asian Newspapers
Seven newspapers published from the late 19th to early 20th centuries- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Greek texts from Homer to the fall of the Byzantines- Times of India, 1838-2003
English language newspaper from 1838 to 2003- Times of London 1785-1985
Newspaper from 1785-1985- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Digitized popular culture collection of comics dating from the 1960s to the present- US Congressional Serial Set
Senate and House reports, documents, and journals from 1817 to 1980- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Network news broadcasts; video of CNN and NBC news- Vogue Archive
Digitized, full-color images of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present- Wall Street Journal 1889-1993
Newspaper from 1889 to 1993- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Primary sources dealing with women's history from 1600 to 2000- World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
American, French, Dutch & Japanese newsreels primarily covering WWII era


Loading...
