What's in the Guide
|This guide provides access to databases and resources to help you research funding opportunities for graduate school. See below for tips on how to navigate through this guide.
Image created by Elise Doney
This guide provides access to an extensive array of funding resources. The resources have been grouped into categories that reflect the types of searches most graduate students are likely to undertake. You can look for resources based upon your academic level, discipline, the type of funding you are seeking, or your identity or special characteristics.
To use this guide, select the tab that most closely fits the type of funding you are seeking. Here are some suggestions to get you started:
- If you are an entering student or pre-dissertation PhD student, try beginning with the General Funding Information tab. There is some useful information about the funding process here. In the right column, there is a list of searchable databases. Most of these are hosted by other universities and contain funding opportuntiies specifically for graduate students. You do not need to be a student at any of the schools to qualify for most of the funding opportunties listed in these databases.
- If you are a PhD student who is about to take exams and preparing to begin dissertation research or is in the writing phase, select the PhD Resources tab. You may also want to use the databases listed in the General Funding Information tab.
- If you are searching for funding to go to a conference or to support research travel, select the Travel tab.
- If you are looking for funding for a specific discipline, try the Funding by Discipline tab. This tab is a work in progress. If you do not see your discipline, try the databases in the General Funding Information tab or in the Grants and Grant Writing tab. Also send GFIS an email so that your discipline will be added in the near future.
- If you are an international student, select the International Students tab. This tab contains links to information about funding opportunities and to databases that have fellowship and grant opportunities for which international students are eligible. There are also a few specific fellowships listed.