Poetry: Poetry in Collections & Anthologies

Poetry in Anthologies:

A lot of poetry is published in anthologies. Unfortunately, locating a specific poem within an anthology can be difficult. There are a handful of special tools available that can identify if a particular poem has been published in an anthology. However, these tools only cover a fraction of the anthologies in existence. Granger's is the best available--try it first. Occasionally, the tables of contents of individual anthologies are available in WorldCat, Google or Amazon. If none of these resources work, check the following. Most are located in Suzzallo Reference (1st Floor).

• Columbia Granger's World of Poetry - [UW restricted]
  Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. This online version contains the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-11), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's guide to poetry anthologies (2nd ed.), Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, Classic hundred poems, as well as new content not published previously in print.
• Black Literature: 1827-1940, McNews (Z1229 N39 B55).
  A project headed by Henry Louis Gates Jr. to identify fiction, poetry, book reviews and literary notices published in black periodicals between 1827-1940 and reproduce the material on microfiche. The call number above is a guide to the microfiche set and the microfiche number is M2296.
• Chicoral Index to Poetry in Anthologies & Collections in Print, PN 1021 .C44.
  Covers a total of 250,000 poems. Indexed by author, title, first line, translator or editor.
• Columbia Granger's Index to African American Poetry, Z 1229 .N39.
• Hoffman's Index to Poetry: European and Latin American Poetry in Anthologies, PN 1022 .H627 1985.
• Index to Black Poetry, PS153.N5.C45 1974.
• Index to Poetry by Black American Women, Z 1229 .N39 C45 1986.
• Index to Poetry for Children/Index to Children's Poetry (1942-1992), PN 1023 .B68/PN1023 .B7.
• Last Lines: An Index to the Last Lines of Poetry (2 vols), PN1022.K55 1991.
  Indexes over 171,000 poems written in or translated into English from a variety of anthologies published between 1900-1987. Poems covered begin in 2600 B.C. through 1987.
• Poetry by American Women, Z 1229 .W8 R4.
• Poetry Index Annual. 1981-. PN1022.P6.
• Women's Poetry Index, PN1024.G89 1985.
  Indexes 51 anthologies by author, title, and first line.