Research Guides
COM 289: Communication and Difference - Summer 2014: Scholarly Articles
Find Scholarly (Academic) Journal Articles ...
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
most subjects
|
|
Academic articles, those published in scholarly journals, are the bedrock of most academic disciplines. They provide an indepth analysis of narrow topics. Prior to publishing, articles are vetted through a process called peer-review. Most academic articles include footnotes which can lead you to additional sources on a topic. If
a database does not provide
the full text of the article that you need, select a button: These buttons will search to see if the Libraries has an article online in a different databases, and if we don't, see if the journal is available in paper. Articles from journals which the UW does not own can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. |
or 
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
business, economics, and finance - Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
communication, media, journalism, and more
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
collection of electronic journals publishing articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary database, includes cited reference searching
- Subject GuidesUse the UW Libraries Subject Guides to access even more research databases.
- Google ScholarSearch Google Scholar to find scholarly/academic articles, conference presentations, and more. Don't pay to access any articles because they are likely available through the UW Libraries for free!
See the Google Scholar Search Tips for help.
Some Articles Available through the UW Libraries
Wilkins, K. G. (2009). Mapping fear and danger in global space: Arab americans' and others' engagement with action-adventure film. The International Communication Gazette, 71(7), 561-576. doi:10.1177/1748048509341888
Ibrahim, D. (2009). The middle east in american media: A 20th-century overview. The International Communication Gazette, 71(6), 511-524. doi:10.1177/1748048509339793
Abrams, J. R. (2010). Asian american television activity: Is it related to outgroup vitality. International Journal of Intercultural Relations, 34(6), 541-550. doi:10.1016/j.ijintrel.2010.08.002
Serrato, P. (2009). 'They are?!': Latino difference vis-a-vis dragon tales. Cultural Studies - Critical Methodologies, 9(2), 149-165. doi:10.1177/1532708608325936
La Ferle, C., & Morimoto, M. (2009). The impact of life-stage on asian american females' ethnic media use, ethnic identification, and attitudes toward ads. The Howard Journal of Communications, 20(2), 147-166. doi:10.1080/10646170902869486
Kretsedemas, P. (2010). 'But she's not black!'. Journal of African American Studies, 14(2), 149-170. doi:10.1007/s12111-009-9116-3
How to Search
Databases work by matching your search terms with the items in the database, in this case information about articles. Generally when searching a library type database, link your search terms with the word "and".
For example, to find articles about the portrayal of people living in the Middle East on television, I need to think of the words that different authors may use when writing about this topic. Then I need to search for all of those words. So I might do searches on:
- "middle east" AND television AND portray*
- arab* AND television
- (arab* OR islam) AND television AND portray*
Searching is a bit of an art so be creative and use a variety of search terms and strategies in order to find the best articles on your topic.
Remember the publication cycle (information cycle) - it takes time for subjects to appear in scholarly articles and books. Depending on the newness of your topic, you may not find scholarly sources on your exact topic.