Research Guides
HSTAA 221/ENVIR 221: Environmental History of the U.S. : Background Sources
Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Both print and online encyclopedias are listed below.
Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of American History
This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of Environmental History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of consumption and waste: the social science of garbage
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of environmental change
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of environmental issues
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Pollution
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. government and the environment: history, policy, and politics
- This link opens in a new window
- Environmental and natural resource economics: an encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Environmental science in context
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Environmental History
- This link opens in a new window
Seattle
- HistoryLinkOnly encyclopedia focused on Seattle & Washington State history
- Sherwood Park History FilesBrief histories of Seattle parks
- Seattle: Cities of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- Seattle: Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide
- This link opens in a new window