International Studies: Background information

Topical overviews

International Studies Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive reference work for international studies and international relations; features review essays that place topics in intellectual and social context.
Gale virtual reference
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in a wide range of social science subjects and beyond.
Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews that outline the state of research on topics in political science, sociology, anthropology, and more.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks in the fields of political science, religion, and more

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in political science, Atlantic history, and more.
History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed surveys of a wide variety of topics in history.
Sociology Compass
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed surveys of a wide variety of topics in sociology.
Geography Compass
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed surveys of a wide variety of topics in geography.
Encyclopedia of global studies
- This link opens in a new window
Overviews of the emerging field of global studies, covering both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.
Encyclopedia of Political Thought
- This link opens in a new window
Entries on a wide range of biographical and conceptual aspects of political thought from antiquity to contemporary political theory and philosophy

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, articles, videos, and more on social science research methods.