Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- SEAchange: From Exxon Valdez to Deepwater Horizon
- Environmental Impact of Oil Spills
SEAchange: From Exxon Valdez to Deepwater Horizon: Environmental Impact of Oil Spills
Deepwater Horizon Environmental Impact
- Deep Water: The Gullf Oil Disaster and the Future of Offshore Drilling final reportFinal report written by the National Commission on the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling.
Exxon Valdez Environmental Impact
Photo credit: OR&R, NOAA
- NOAA Office of Exxon Valdez Oil Spill (EVOS) Damage Assessment and RestorationIncludes research and restoration project information, environmental impact statements, research funding opportunities, and more.
- NOAA Office of Response and Restoration: Exxon Valdez Oil SpillProvides general information about the spill, original response documents, lessons learned, assessing the environmental impacts, and much more.
- Prince William's Oily Mess: A Tale of RecoveryEasy to read description of the Exxon Valdez oil spill and it's lasting impact on the environment by NOAA Ocean Service Education. Watch the Oil Spill Trajectory Model - Computer simulation of how oil traveled across Prince William Sound during the first week after the Exxon Valdez oil spill.
Recommended Readings @ UW Libraries
The UW Libraries has many resources dealing with the environmental impact of oil spills.
See this list of recommended books on the enivornmental impacts of the Exxon Valdez and Deepwater Horizon oil spills. Additional books can be found by searching UW Worldcat .
Databases for More Research
- AgricolaCatalog and index to the National Agricultural Library.
Search these databases to find academic articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
Resources identified as 
are UW Restricted. Anyone can visit a UW library to search the
databases, but only current UW students, faculty, and staff can access
them from off campus.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations about American and Canadian history. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines from 1932 to the present - Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly articles across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and Clinical Reference Systems reports.
- New York Times (historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable facsimile of NYT issues published from 1851 to 2007. - science.govScience.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov provides a search of over 45 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Websites.
- TOXNETDatabases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present.