Research Guides
ENGL 213 - Modern & Postmodern Literature: Background Info
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections:
- Gale Virtual Reference
This link opens in a new window
More than 100 special encyclopedias covering all subjects
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects
Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works
The printed encyclopedias can be found in Reference section on the 1st floor of Suzzallo Library.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- This link opens in a new window
- Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of Londonprinted encyclopedia
- Historical dictionary of the British empirePrint encyclopedia
- London encyclopaediaprinted encyclopedia
- Oxford Companion to Black British History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Companion to British History
- This link opens in a new window
Major encyclopedia: more than 4,000 entries covering all aspects of British history
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major encyclopedia: standard biographical dictionary for British in all fields, only deceased are included
- Timetables of history: a historical linkage of people and eventsprinted chronology
- Twentieth-century Britain: an encyclopediaPrint encyclopedia
- World War I : encyclopediamulti-volume print encyclopedia