SIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2011: Task Force N

Research and writing resources for winter quarter Jackson School Task Force projects.

Climate Change and the Nuclear Option in Asia - Global Threat or Strategy?

SCOTT MONTGOMERY M W 1:30-3:20

This Task Force will take up the question by examining its principle elements (e.g. current understanding of climate risks; carbon savings from nuclear; the status of global nuclear power; current negotiations to amend the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty; policies regarding nuclear arsenals and their continued reduction; challenges related to Iran, North Korea, and the U.S.-India nuclear deal) in order to forge a set of recommendations that would give the U.S. an active leadership role in resolving this issue for the long-term.

Skills Assessment Survey: https://catalyst.uw.edu/webq/survey/owrc/121117

Article Databases

BAS (Bibliography of Asian Studies)
Index of Western language articles about Asia [UW restricted]
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
The key database for identifying journal articles in political science, international relations, security studies, and related fields. [UW restricted]
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to vital scholarly conten in more than 50 disciplines.[UW restricted]

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[UW restricted] Find full-text articles

Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
Provides access to full text dissertations and theses from all the fields of study.[UW restricted]
Energy Technology Data Exchange
Enter keywords into search box at top of page. Try "nuclear climate".

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences.[UW restricted] The citations describe journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.

WorldWideScience.org
Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Background and Country Information

CQ Researcher
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. [UW restricted]
North Korea: a guide to recent developments
A current bibliography of source, from the NATO Library
U.S. Department of State - India
Country background
U.S. Department of State - Iran
Country background
U.S. Department of State - North Korea
Country background.
U.S. Department of State - South Korea (Republic of Korea)
Country background
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change

Policy Sources

Search UW Libraries Catalog using the LC Subject field and the following terms:

"Climatic Changes Government Policy"

"Energy Policy"

"Global Warming Government Policy"

"Nuclear Energy Government Policy"

"Nuclear Nonproliferation"

"Nuclear Weapons Government Policy"

Related Agencies & Organizations

World Nuclear Association
The World Nuclear Association is the international organization that promotes nuclear energy and supports the many companies that comprise the global nuclear industry.
EPA Global Change Research Program
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
IAEA and the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
OECD Nuclear Energy Agency
The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a specialised agency within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an intergovernmental organisation of industrialised countries, based in Paris, France.
U.S. Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
U.S. Nuclear Waste Review Board
United Nations Disarmament Commission
UNODA -- Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)
United Nations Environment Programme - Division of Technology, Industry, and Economics: Energy Branch
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
World Meteorological Organization (WMO) World Climate Programme
Center for Policy Research - India
CPR is an independent and non-partisan research institute and think tank. It provides leadership and creative solutions to address pressing intellectual and policy issues

Statistics

Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere & Ocean (JISAO) Data Archive
Joint institute between UW and NOAA. Site includes current and historical climate data, as well as atlases, animations and more.
Met Office Hadley Centre Observations
Includes raw data, visualizations and analyses of important climate indicators.
Nuclear Energy Institute -- World Statistics
General nuclear statistics in the world including the number of plants, total capacity and generation, country by country fuel shares, and reactors under construction.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Independent statistics and analysis of data on nuclear energy in the United States. Some international data included.
World Development Indicators
World Resources Institute: Country Profiles for Climate & Atmosphere
"...(E)nvironmental information about key variables for each topic area."
World Weather Records
Published since 1927, and include monthly mean values of pressure, temperature, precipitation, and where available, station metadata notes documenting observation practices and station configurations.