This is the "Subject Info" page of the "Collection Guidelines: Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Guidelines: Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies   Tags: collection_guidelines  

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/complitcd Print Guide

Subject Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

Image: http://bookshelves.tumblr.com/

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the Comparative Literature Librarian.

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies are the analyses of relationships among literatures and media of various cultures, nations and periods. Literary and popular genres, sources and influences, as well as aesthetic and critical theories and methods are included in this discipline. Study may be intercultural or interlinguistical, extending to the relationship of literature and media to other spheres of human expression such as philosophy, the fine arts, religion and history.

      

    Subject Classification

    Library of Congress Classification (LC):

    • Material can be found throughout the P classification, language and literature, motion pictures and documentary films, with particular concentration in PN, literary history and criticism, films and documentaries . Bibliography is covered in Z1201-8999, national, subject and personal bibliography

    Dewey Decimal Classification:

    • Most monographs and some serials cataloged prior to 1967 were cataloged under the Dewey Decimal Classification System.  Most of these materials have been relocated to remote storage and can be requested through the Libraries Online Catalog.
        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip