This is the "Subject Definition" page of the "Communication Studies: Collecting Guidelines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Studies: Collecting Guidelines  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/comm-collecting-guide Print Guide

Subject Definition Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

Image: Joan M. Mas/Flickr (CC)

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Communication collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the Communication Studies Librarian.  

 

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

Communication is the multidisciplinary study of the transmission of ideas, information, and experience across contexts, including face-to-face interactions, public discourse, mass media, and digital media.  The Communication collection's primary goal is to support scholarship in the Department of Communication.  See the department's mission for more context.  

The collection will be useful to those researching and studying in the Humanities and Social Sciences, as well as some Science courses.  The Communication Research Guide will help you to begin using the materials (archives, books, electronic databases, journals, magazines, and newspapers) in the UW Libraries Communication collection.

      
     

    Subject Classification

    Library of Congress Classification (LC):

    Communication research is represented in many Library of Congress Classification schedules; however, these stand out:

    • HM, HN - social aspects of communication, social history, and public opinion
    • J - political aspects of communication
    • KF - law and legislation
    • P90 - communication and mass media
    • PN4700-5639 - journalism

    Other relevant areas include:

    • HF5801-6182 - advertising
    • PN1994 - motion pictures
    • Z218-550 - publishing and book selling

    Dewey Decimal Classification:

    The primary classification numbers are:

    • 301.14-301.16 - communications and mass communications
    • 341.7, 343.9 - communications law
    • 384 - telecommunications
    • 659.1 - advertising
    • 070-079 - journalims, publishing, newspapers

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip