Citation Style GuidesRefWorks & EndNote WebZotero
This is the "research" page of the "COM 529 - Foundations: Research Strategy & Business Practice (Albano, Winter 2013)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COM 529 - Foundations: Research Strategy & Business Practice (Albano, Winter 2013)  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/com529_Pearce Print Guide

research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Starting points for your research

 

Subject guides

Your gateway to UW Libraries online and physical materials (technology reports, journal articles, news stories, books, DVDs, etc.) in Communication and the other subjects/disciplines researched on campus.  These will be useful to MCDM students: 

Article & Research Databases

Powerful search tools for searching many years (past and present) of business, communication, media journals, and related disciplines, all at once.  MCDM students should start here to find trade publications and academic journals:

Quanitative & Qualitative Studies

Many studies are described in journal articles that can be found through library databases like these:

Many organizations, companies, and think tanks conduct research and publish research reports.  Some provide access to some or all of their data for free.  Try these:

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
find journal articles, conference papers, theses & dissertations, academic websites and more in all subjects.  Be sure to check your Google Scholar preferences.  Make sure "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" is checked under "Library Links." 

For more information about searching Google Scholar to find UW materials, watch the Google Scholar How Do I ...? video.

 

Get Stuff

The following free services help you tap into materials throughout the University of Washington Libraries and beyond:

Desktop Article Delivery

Never photocopy another journal article again. When you identify articles in journals that we only have in hard copy at UW Libraries, place your request for them online, and we'll pull it from the shelf, scan the article, and deposit it in your Interlibrary Loan account.  Usually takes about one working day.  Read more ...

Suggest a Puchase

Suggest that materials be added to the collection.  Budgets are tight, but I'll do my best to purchase the books and media that you need to for your research and teaching.  Note: subscribing to journals is a bit more challenging, but it never hurts to ask!  Contact me or use the Libraries online form.  

Summit Libraries

We're part of a large network of academic libraries in Washington State and Oregon that shares collections.  When you search in UW WorldCat, you'll identify materials in these other libraries, and then request them with the click of a button. Delivery usually takes about 3-5 days.  Read more ...

Interlibrary Loan

When you identify materials that aren't available here or in our Summit network, you can request them through our Interlibrary Loan service.  Most articles are delivered electronically within a couple of days; books may take 1-2 weeks. Start here to create your account for this free service.

 

How do I find the article if it's not in the database?

Gutierrez, Luis H., Gamboa, Luis F..  Determinants of ICT USage among Low-Income Groups in Colombia, Mexico, and Peru.  The Information Society, vol. 26, no. 5, pp. 346-363, October 2010.

The UW Libraries subscribes to many databases because they do not include the same publications.  The publishers decide which databases may include the full text of their articles.  If a database does not provide the full text of the article that you need, select a button: 

or

These buttons will search to see if the Libraries has the article online in a different database and, if we don't, see if the magazine is available in paper.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip