How I Can Help You

For students, I can:
- Suggest research strategies for using labor collections
- Suggest appropriate labor collections and reference resources
- Recommend the best databases to search for your research topic
- Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
- Meet with you individually to hash out your topic or discuss research strategies
- Tell you about library services
- Provide hands-on experience in describing, arranging, preserving, and making accessible primary source material in labor history--ask about volunteering, interning, or signing as a service learning student: cmcasey@uw.edu
For faculty, I can:
- Track down tricky citations
- Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
- Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
- Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
- Meet with your students individually
- Bring in labor related collections from community members you have worked with or researched
- Tell you about library services
- Act as a liaison between you and the labor community to help you further your research
For labor union members, officers, and members of the public with labor-related collections I can:
- Work with you to transfer your records to the Labor Archives of Washington
- Give tours and presentations about the labor archives to your organization
- Give tours and presentations on how to use the labor collections to your organization
- Meet with you individually to hash out your topic or discuss research strategies
- Teach workshops on "How to Keep Union Records" to suggest records management strategies for your existing records and how to select and donate your inactive historic records of enduring value
- Tell you about the services provided by the Labor Archives of Washington State
- Help you members and communications officers to find archival materials to support their activities
Library Guides
Subject and class guides created by me to help you with your academic work:
Labor Archives of Washington
- Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
LAW contains records from individuals and organizations that document the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest.
1,418 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
LAW contains records from individuals and organizations that document the local, national and international dimensions of the labor movement in the Pacific Northwest.
1,418 views this year
Labor Archivist |
Contact Info Conor M. Casey, Labor Archivist Labor Archives of Washington State | Libraries Special Collections Mail: Box 352900, Seattle, WA 98133-2900 Allen Library South, Basement/B81D 206.685.3976 fax 206.543.1931 Send Email Video:: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSi1aSL5JFY |
More Help
- More ExpertsUW Subject Librarians
- Research ConsultationsMake an appointment with subject experts for personal in-depth help
- Ask Us!Get help by phone, online, via email or text message
- How Do I...?Watch short video tutorials on common library-related tasks and questions




Loading...
