- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) [UW restricted]
Magazine and journal articles from all academic disciplines
- Access World News [UW restricted]
Includes complete electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Features an intuitive, map-based interface and the ability to search single or multiple titles by headline, name, topic, keyword, date and author.
- Annual Statement Studies [UW restricted]
Online version of the RMA Annual Statement Studies. Provides industry average ratios and financial measures for over 750 industries.
- Bloomberg [UW restricted]
Detailed up-to-the-minute and historical stock, stock market and company financial data.
Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff. Available on Bloomberg/Datastream terminal located in the Foster Business Library.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) [UW restricted]
Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
- China Data Online [UW restricted]
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
- ChinaInfobank [UW restricted]
China Infobank is one of the most authoritative sources of China-related information and currently comprises over 7 million business reports and articles. It provides a range of economic, business, scientific and governmental data to the business and research community. There are three main categories of content: the Business Database, Financial Express, and the News Channel, which are based upon over 1,000 newspaper, magazines and trade journals and over sixty other content providers.
- Comtrade, UN [UW restricted]
The Comtrade database is a product of the United Nations Statistics Division and is the most comprehensive source for world trade data: Every year between 120 to 140 countries or areas report their merchandise trade statistics to the United Nations...[covering] as much as 95% of World trade. Each of these countries report the trade by commodity and trading partner.
- Conference Board, Business Knowledge Research [UW restricted]
A searchable database of full-text research reports, published by the Conference Board, on the latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S. and global economic indicators and analysis, as well as forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
- Datastream [UW restricted]
Detailed U.S. and international securities and economic data.
Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff. Available on the Bloomberg/Datastream terminal located in the Foster Business Library.
- EconLit [UW restricted]
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the fundamental research tool in economics. The database provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, covering journal articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective works, such as conference proceedings and collected essay volumes.
- Economist [UW restricted]
Historical archive of The Economist magazine from 1843-2006. Full scanned and searchable pages of The Economist, including all of the articles and advertising that appeared in the magazine.
- EIU Online [UW restricted]
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this database provides their trademark Country Reports and Country Commerce for nearly 200 countries, regions and organizations, with both current and retrospective information. EIU stopped updating the Country Profiles in 2008, but older profiles remain accessible.
- Elsevier Handbooks in Economics [UW restricted]
Core resource for articles on topics in economics.
- Euromonitor Passport [UW restricted]
Research on consumer goods industries, plus intelligence on countries and consumers. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff.
- Europa World [UW restricted]
Political, social and economic information about countries. Includes country maps and a directory of political and business organizations in each country.
- Factiva [UW restricted]
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings.
- First Research [UW restricted]
Industry profiles for over 600 industry segments. It is especially useful for finding information on relatively small industries or ones that are predomimantly composed of small private companies.
- Forrester [UW restricted]
Provides reports on the effects of technology change on businesses, consumers, and society, and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff.
- Gale Directory Library [UW restricted]
The Gale Directory Library has online directories including Business Rankings Annual, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, and the popular Market Share Reporter.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [UW restricted]
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for five major business sources: the Business Plan Handbooks, the Encyclopedia of American Industries, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, and the International Directory of Company Histories.
- Gartner Research [UW restricted]
Provides in-depth analysis and market intelligence for the information technology industry, covering the full range of products and technologies associated with computer hardware, software, communications products, financial services, electronic business, and healthcare application software worldwide. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff.
- Global Financial Data [UW restricted]
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
- Global Road Warrior [UW restricted]
Provides international travelers with information on 175 countries. Topics include country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, transportation, maps, communications, and much more.
- Historical Statistics of the United States [UW restricted]
A compilation of statistics from the colonial times to the present. Includes population, social, business and economic statistics.
- Hoover's Online [UW restricted]
Source for detailed company information, company histories, lists of competitors, financials and news, for both public and private companies. Also includes industry profiles and comparisons.
- IBISWorld [UW restricted]
Industry and market research reports for industries and markets in the U.S., China, and Worldwide.
- International Financial Statistics Online [UW restricted]
The International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments, inflation, deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- Kompass [UW restricted]
Directory information for 1.6 million companies in more than 70 countries, with indexes for company products and services, containing 23 million product and service references, and 500,000 trademarks and brand names.
- LexisNexis Academic [UW restricted]
Full text for thousands of trade journals, newspapers, newswires, and business, legal, medical, and accounting services. Also contains corporate annual reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country data.
- MarketResearch.com Academic [UW restricted]
Market research reports covering many different industries and market sectors.
- Mergent Online [UW restricted]
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on U.S. and international public companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
- Mint Global [UW restricted]
MintGlobal is a business and financial database from Bureau Van Dijk. It provides company financial, news and market research information for businesses and industries around the world. The four parts are labelled Companies, News, Market Research and Original Documents in MintGlobal.
- Morningstar Principia Pro
Online version of Morningstar Mutual Funds, an advisory service providing profiles and performance measures for selected mutual funds.
Available only at the CD-ROM station in Suzzallo. It is opposite the Library Accounts Services office on the first floor, behind the reference collection. Ask at a service desk if you have trouble finding it.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics [UW restricted]
Extensive and authoritative dictionary of economics terms and concepts.
- New York Times Historical [UW restricted]
Full page and article images of the New York Times with searchable full text, from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Oxford Reference: Economics & Business [UW restricted]
This database provides online searching and content for Oxford University Press's Dictionaries of Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance and Banking, Human Resource Management, and the Handbook of International Financial Terms.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text [UW restricted]
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
- ProQuest Newspapers [UW restricted]
Full-text of major national and Washington state newspapers. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) [UW restricted]
PAIS indexes articles from over 1,400 journals along with thousands of government documents, statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings and books in the broad field of public and social policy issues, dating back to 1980.
- Puget Sound Business Journal and Book of Lists [UW restricted]
Full text of the Puget Sound Business Journal and the Book of Lists. Also includes full access to 40 other weeklies that are a part of the American City Business Journals family.
- ReferenceUSA [UW restricted]
Directory information for over 24 million public and private companies in the U.S. and over 1.5 million companies in Canada, along with information about several hundred million U.S. residents. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size, location, etc.
- RIA Checkpoint [UW restricted]
Resource for accounting research. Use for finding text and explanation of federal and state tax laws.
- Simply Map [UW restricted]
This web-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
- Source OECD [UW restricted]
Online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, with twenty OECD book collections by theme, including all of the organization's monographs and reports published since 1998; twenty OECD periodicals; some OECD reference titles; and the OECD databases.
- Sports Business Research Network / SBR Net [UW restricted]
Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sporting goods industry including: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
- SRDS Lifestyle Market Audience Analyst [UW restricted]
Demographic and psychographic profiles by County and MSA. Includes reports by market, lifestyle and demographic characteristics. SRDS works best in Internet Explorer
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage [UW restricted]
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [UW restricted]
A great starting point for statistics questions. Starting with the 2013 edition, it is published by Proquest.
- Statistical Insight [UW restricted]
Index to statistics published in commercial, international and U.S. government publications, with statistical tables in GIF and, in many cases, Microsoft Excel format.
- TableBase [UW restricted]
TableBase contains tablular information for business, marketing, trade and economic research.
Web-based access to a directory of hundreds of thousands of products and services in the U.S. and Canada; online version of the print edition of the Thomas Register.
- ThomsonONE [UW restricted]
Contains company financial and other information including investment analyst reports formerly found in Investext and private equity deals and data formerly found in VentureXpert.
ThomsonONE only works with Internet Explorer. It will not work with any other browser. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff.
- Uniworld [UW restricted]
Includes two directories: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries lists American companies that have substantial investment in overseas operations; and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States lists foreign companies that have substantial investment in American operations.
- Vault Career Insider [UW restricted]
This database provides information and guides for over 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters; and more. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty, and staff.
- Wall Street Journal Historical [UW restricted]
This ProQuest database, covering the years 1889 through 1989, stores each page in PDF format, fully searchable by keyword. Content includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements.
- Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) [UW restricted]
Index to cited and citing references in journals in the social sciences.
- World Bank GDF Online [UW restricted]
Statistical data from the World Bank for over 200 debt and financial flows indicators for 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank. Data is from 1970 to 2011, where available. Web version of the annual Global Development Finance.
- World Bank WDI Online [UW restricted]
Statistical data from the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Web version of World Development Indicators.
- World Competitiveness Online [UW restricted]
The World competitiveness yearbook analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. World competitiveness online provides access to the entire WCY database including 5 year time series.
- World Telecommunication Indicators
International Telecommunication Union database of telecommunications data, country by country, with data from the Yearbook of Statistics and from the World Telecommunications Development Report.
Available only at the CD-ROM station in Suzzallo. It is opposite the Library Account Services office on the first floor, behind the reference collection. Ask at a service desk if you have trouble finding it.
- World Trade Ref [UW restricted]
A compilation of data sets and other types of information on an array of topics relating to international trade, including air transport; the basics of international trade (imports, exports, foreign exchange, contracts); business entities worldwide; computer terms, country codes, country and demographic data; currencies; U.S. customs requirements and rulings; U.S. import and export forms; the full text of NAFTA and related documents; security data set (C-TPAT, FAST, PAPS, PARS, etc.); and more.