Online Newspapers
- Burney Collection: 17th & 18th Century Newspapers Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of newspapers, pamphlets, and books (1757-1817). More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included. [UW restricted]
- Times of London Full-text of the newspaper from 1785-1985. [UW restricted]
Indexes to Periodicals
The library subscribes to many online periodicals that will be of interest to scholars of British literature. The resources on this page are devoted to older periodicals. For information on current journals, magazines and newspapers, see the tab "Find Articles" on the English Subject page.
- C19: Nineteenth Century Index Indexes British and American publications from the 19th century and includes the electronic equivalent of Poole's index to periodical literature, The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900 and other sources pertaining to the 19th Century. [UW restricted]
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Cites articles from English-language periodicals from scholarly journals and important specialized magazines from 1907-1984. [UW restricted]
Online Periodicals
- Internet Library of Early Journals Digitized issues six British magazines from the 18th and 19th century: Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, 1843-1863; Notes and Queries, 1849-1869; The Builder, 1843-1852; Gentleman's Magazine, 1731-1750; The Annual Register, 1758-1778; Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, 1757-1777.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait