Printed Biographical Dictionaries

The UW Libraries has hundreds of printed biographical dictionaries covering all countries and occupations. To find these dictionaries, do a keywords search in the UW Libraries Catalog for: biography and dictionaries. For example:
- biography and dictionaries and medicine
- biography and dictionaries and women
- biography and dictionaries and japan
Image: Paul Newman
Encyclopedias
Many encyclopedias also include biographies. Search these two collections of electronic encyclopedias for biographical information. Additional encyclopedias are listed on the various history subject guides.
Biographical Databases
- American National Biography
![]()
- American Women of Science since 1900
![]()
- Australian Dictionary of Biography
- Biographical Directory of the US Congress 1774 to Present
- Biographical encyclopedia of scientists
![]()
- Biographie-Portal
- Biography Reference Bank
![]()
- Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
![]()
- Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
- Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani
- Literature Resource Center
![]()
- Neue Deutsche Biographie
- Oxford African American Studies Center
![]()
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
![]()
- Sackler Archive Resource
- World Biographical Information System
![]()
Major Biographical Collections on Microfiche
The following microfilmed biographical sets are indexed by the World Biographical Index listed above. The sets are housed in the Microforms & Newspapers Collection on the ground floor of Suzzallo.
- Archives biographiques françaises. I
- Archives biographiques françaises. II
- Archivio biografico italiano
- Archivio biografico italiano. Nuova serie
- Deutsches biographisches Archiv
- Deutsches biographisches Archiv. Neue Folge bis zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts
- Indian biographical archive
- Jüdisches biographisches Archiv
- Jüdisches biographisches Archiv. Supplement
- Russisches biographisches Archiv
- Scandinavian biographical archive
- South-East Asian biographical archive


Loading...
