What's in this guide?
Use the tabs above or links below to locate resources pertinent to the study of bibliography, book history and textual studies. If you have questions about research methodology or specific resources for a research project, please contact the English Studies Librarian directly or use the "Ask Us" options above for assistance.
- Finding Books - resources for finding books published on the topics of bibliography, textual studies and book history.
- Finding Journal Articles - resources for locating articles and dissertations on bibliography, textual studies and book history.
- Digital Archives - digitized texts and accompanying scholarship.
- Key Journals - journals devoted to bibliography, textual studies and book history.
- Scholarly Associations - associations pertinent to the study of bibliography, textual studies and book history.
- Selected Bibliography - core books on bibliography, textual studies and book history.
- English Research Guide - resources pertinent to the study of British and American literature, other literatures written in English, and the English language.
Reference Bibliography - The study of books as intellectual objects:
- Systematic or Enumerative Bibliography - Listing of books and/or other materials covering a specific time period, country, or topic; an inventory; can describe items focusing on a particular topic
Physical Bibliography - The study of books as physical objects:
- Analytical or Descriptive Bibliography - The study of the materials (paper, binding, type, ink) and the processes of producing books; physical details that might be significant to those studying the text
- Textual Bibliography - The study of the author's creative message as expressed in the physical object, and how this message might be distorted through the process of printing; the relationship between the printed text and the text as conceived by the author; comparison of texts and their transmission through various printings and editions