Bobby and the InnkeepersBrothers FourByron PopeCablesCal TjaderFour-Do-MaticsHelen Owen HutchinsKing's MenPaul WestRussian Balalaika OrchestraShaggy Gorillas Minus One Buffalo FishTalismen
This is the "Home" page of the "Kearney Barton Collection of NW Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Kearney Barton Collection of NW Music  

This guide contains information about and links to recordings from the Kearney Barton Collection of NW Music.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/barton Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Kearney Barton circa 2011 (Photo: Chris Gergley)

Welcome to the guide for the Kearney Barton Collection of Northwest Music. From here you can search the Collection and listen to select recordings from its vast holdings. 

About Kearney Barton: Seattle recording engineer Kearney Barton (1931-2012) began crafting sounds in the early 1950s. His portfolio arcs over genres: rock, opera, jazz, folk, bluegrass, classical, cabaret, gospel, and even the occasional accordion-infused Nordic novelty song. Most significantly, Barton is recognized with shaping the “Northwest Sound.” NW music historian Peter Blecha writes: "Seattle's Kearney Barton is the man whose audio engineering work can be credited with forging the powerful aural esthetic that became widely known as the 'original Northwest Sound'" (historylink.org).

As a result of his many decades of work, Barton amassed thousands of analog reel-to-reel recordings at his home studio. In April 2010, the UW Libraries received a grant from the American Music Partnership of Seattle (AMPS) to preserve and describe a portion of these recordings. The UW Libraries continues to work with his family, Light in the Attic Records, and others to preserve and provide access to these audio gems. If you have questions about the Collection, or want to learn more about how to support its preservation, please contact archivist John Vallier.

 

Kearney Barton Collection on SoundCloud

 

Black on White Affair

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip