Movies on DVDMovies OnlineTV on DVDTV OnlineArchival
MusicSpoken WordSounds & EffectsArchival
This is the "AV Home" page of the "Audio & Video" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Audio & Video  

This guide provides links to and information about audio and video resources at the UW and beyond.
Last Updated: May 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/av Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

AV Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in the AV Guide?

Welcome to the audio & video guide. It's designed to help you find music CDs, audiobooks, movies, TV shows, copyright information, links to music and film criticism resources, and more. Use the tabs and subpages to navigate.

  • Audio - Listen to music, plays, books, speeches, sound effects & more.
  • Video - Watch films, TV shows, documentaries, news, arts & more.
  • Copyright - Learn about copyright & how it impacts your use of av.
  • Criticism - Find scholarly criticism on music, cinema, TV, video & more.

 

Filmakers Library

Filmakers Library has been distributing documentary films for almost 40 years. Their catalog includes heavily used humanities and social science oriented documentaries. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. The titles in Filmakers Library Online present points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. While we have many of their films on DVD in the Libraries, you can now watch many of these and other titles online. Click here to access (UW Restricted). 

Black Studies in Video

Black Studies in Video logo

Alexander Street Press' Black Studies in Video collection features 145 videos, totalling 141 hours. The collection includes "award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States." The films cover subjects from history and politics to arts, culture, family, and gender relations. To access this unique collection, click here (UW restricted).

 

Related Links, Collections & Guides

Head, Distributed Media

Profile Image
John Vallier
Contact Info
UW Libraries Media Center
(206) 616-1210
Send Email
 

UW Media Center

The Media Center is the largest academic media collection in the NW. While the majority of its collections consist of video, the Media Center also has a sizable collection of audio recordings that can be taken out of the library. Click here to learn more.

 

Media Education

The Media Education Foundation produces documentary films that inspire critical reflection on the social, political, & cultural impact of American mass media. Watch here (UW restricted).

Libraries Home
Privacy
Contact Us/Comments
© 2009-2012 University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900 Seattle, WA 98195-2900 USA
phone: 206-543-0242
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip