Online Newspapers
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Full-text of 7 African American newspapers from the 19th century including Freedom's Journal and The National Era. [UW restricted]
- Chicago Defender Full-text articles from this important African-American paper, 1910-1975. [UW restricted]
- Early American Newspapers Series II Full-text articles from 1758-1900. [UW restricted]
- Los Angeles Times Full text of paper from 1881 to 1985. [UW restricted]
- New York Times Full text of paper from 1851 to 2003. [UW restricted]
- Pennsylvania Gazette Full-text of the newspaper from 1728-1800. [UW restricted]
Online Periodicals
The library subscribes to many online periodicals that will be of interest to scholars of American literature. The resources on this page are devoted to older periodicals. For information on current journals, magazines and newspapers, see the tab "Find Articles" on the English Subject page.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. [UW restricted]
- Making of America (Cornell) Digitized collection of 19th century American magazine articles & books that covers American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles. Search entire collection or limit to journals only.
- Making of America (Michigan) Digitized collection of 19th century American imprints. Contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles. Search entire collection or limit to journals only.
Indexes to Periodicals
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective Cites articles from English-language periodicals from scholarly journals and important specialized magazines from 1907-1984. [UW restricted]
- Readers Guide Retrospective Index to popular American magazines. Covers 1890-1980. Printed version available in Suzzallo Reference [AI3 .R48]. [UW restricted]
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait