This is the "Subject Info" page of the "Collection Guidelines: American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Guidelines: American Indian Studies   Tags: collection_guidelines  

Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/american_Indian-collecting-guide Print Guide

Subject Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide


Chilkat dancers pose in ceremonial dress with wood carvings, Alaska, 1895.
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collection. The Library of Congress American Memory Project
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the American Indian Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the American Indian Studies Librarian.

Photo: Timeless Books by Lin Kristensen

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

American Indian Studies is the interdisciplinary pursuit of knowledge regarding the interactions among the social, economic, cultural, historical, linguistic, genetic, political, ecological, and biomedical factors that shape native societies

Scholarship in American Indian Studies is distinguished by a reliance on both primary collections (contemporary and historical documents, images and other material) and secondary collections (interpretations and analyses published in scholarly monographs and journal literature).

The collection primarily supports the curriculum and research of the University of Washington's American Indian Studies Program. The collection also supports the interdisciplinary needs of other UW departments and programs.

Use the American Indian Studies subject guide to locate resources.

      

    Subject Classification

    American Indian Studies (AIS) is by its nature an interdisciplinary field, and the collections supporting it range widely and can be found among several Library of Congress (LC) classes. Some primary LC classes for American Indian Studies:

    • E77 General works
    • E78 By state, province or region, A-Z
    • E98 By subject, A-Z
    • E99 By Tribe, A-Z
    • GR Folklore
    • GT Manners and customs
    • HT Communities, classes, and races
    • HV3176-3199 Special classes. By race or ethnic group
    • HV5001-5720.5 Alcoholism. Intemperance. Temperance reform

    Some sample subject headings where American Indian Studies materials can be retrieved include:

    • Indian art North America
    • Indians of North America - Fishing
    • Indians of North America - Education
    • Indians of North America - Washington - Education
    • Tulalip Indians - Education
    • Tulalip Indians - Social conditions
    • United States - Civilization - Indian influences
    • Indians of North America - Fishing
    • Indians of North America - Education
    • Indians of North America -- Northwest, Pacific
    • Indians of North America -- Northwest, Pacific -- Folklore
    • Indians of North America -- Northwest, Pacific -- Social life and customs
    • Indians of North America -- Northwest, Pacific -- Politics and government
    • Indians of North America -- Politics and government
    • Indians of North America -- Social life and customs
    • Indians of North America - Washington
    • Pacific Northwest Coast Indian civilization
    • Tulalip Indians - Economic conditions
    • Tulalip Indians - Education
    • Tulalip Indians - Social conditions

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip