This is the "Subject Info" page of the "Collection Guidelines: American Ethnic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Guidelines: American Ethnic Studies   Tags: collection_development, collection_guidelines  

Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/aes-collecting-guide Print Guide

Subject Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the American Ethnic Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the American Ethnic Studies Librarian.

Photo: Timeless Books by Lin Kristensen

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

American Ethnic Studies is the interdisciplinary exploration into the ethnic-specific, and comparative concepts, theories, and methods of disciplined inquiry as applied to the study of selected U. S. ethnic groups.

Scholarship in American Ethnic Studies is distinguished by a reliance on both primary collections (contemporary and historical documents, images and other material) and secondary collections (interpretations and analyses published in scholarly monographs and journal literature).

The collection primarily supports the curriculum and research of the University of Washington's American Ethnic Studies Department. The collection also supports the interdisciplinary needs of other UW departments and programs.

Use the American Ethnic Studies subject guide to locate resources.

      

    Subject Classification

    American Ethnic Studies (AES) is by its nature an interdisciplinary field, and the collections supporting it range widely and can be found among several Library of Congress (LC) classes. The primary LC class for American Ethnic Studies is:

    • E 184- 185.98 (Elements in the population; African-American, Asian American, Chicano)

    Some sample subject headings where AES material can be found include:

    • African American women--Biography
    • African Americans--Civil rights
    • Afrocentrism
    • Asian Americans -- Politics and government
    • Bilingual education -- United States
    • Black power
    • Caribbean Area -- Emigration and immigration
    • Cultural pluralism -- United States
    • Discrimination -- United States
    • Ethnic identity
    • Ethnic relations
    • Ethnicity -- United States
    • Hispanic American students -- Social conditions
    • Hispanic Americans
    • Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945

     

    • Linguistic minorities -- Education -- United States
    • Mexican Americans
    • Minorities
    • Multicultural education
    • Multiculturalism
    • Prejudices -- United States
    • Race relations
    • Racially mixed people
    • Racism -- United States
    • Segregation in education
    • Slavery in the United States--Condition of slaves
    • Slaves--United States--Biography
    • Stereotypes (Social psychology) in mass media
    • United States -- Ethnic relations
    • United States -- Race relations

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip