Research Guides
Class Help Page for English 198A Interdisciplinary Writing Link: Find Articles & E-Journals
Instructor: Tanvi Patel
Database searching tips
Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the boxes below are some selected database starting points for finding articles on topics in Native Americans.
Tips:
- AND returns results with both terms: Asian Americans AND immigration
Vietnamese Americans AND assimilation - OR returns results with either term: assimilation OR acculturation OR conformity
Good for use with related terms or synonyms - Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C
Japanese Americans AND ( assimilation OR acculturation OR conformity ) - Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase
"First Nations" - Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending
culture* [finds culture, cultures, cultural ...]
Starting Points
The following are recommended starting points for locating articles. Use these databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials.
[UW restricted], databases with this icon are accessible remotely by UWNetID only.
When accessing from off-campus, click the red outlined "off-campus access" box found at the top of all library pages, entering your UWNetID and password when prompted.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[UW restricted] Find full-text articles - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in American and Canadian history.
[UW restricted] - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Index component of this database provides excellent interdisciplinary Social Science coverage. It is also a useful tool for answering "who has cited this book or article?"
[UW restricted] Links to some full-text articles
No Online Article Available
If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as America: History and Life, then click on the purple Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need. If there is no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.
How do I find out if the article I need is online?
Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video
(opens a new window)
How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?
Use Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington. | Time - 01:38 | Transcript | Play Video