Research Guides
GEOG 350: Geographies of Marketing & Retail - Spring 2011: Data Sources
Find Maps
United States & Washington State Maps
- SimplyMap
Create maps to illustrate a range of economic, social, and demographic factors. - Social Explorer
Create maps or data tables from US Census data, 1790-2010. Maps can be printed or displayed in a slideshow. - City of Seattle Census 2000 Data & Maps
Data for Census Bureau geographies and Locally Defined Areas. - King County Census Viewer
View maps and tables for more than 100 community census data indicators for 77 defined places throughout King County. Data displayed at census tract or blockgroup level within each place. - MapStats: United States
V iew a statistical profile of your state, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district - Thematic Maps from American FactFinder
The Census Bureau provides several maps online as well as an interactive tool for creating customized thematic maps from demographic and economic census data.
International Trade Resources
- TradeStats Express
Shows U.S. exports to other countries; balance of trade statistics - Trade
List of international trade-related resources
Company & Corporation Data
- Hoover's OnlineSource for detailed company information, company histories, lists of competitors, financials and news, for both public and private companies. Also includes industry profiles and comparisons.
[UW restricted]
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on U.S. and international public companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
[UW restricted]
- SEC - EDGARSecurities and Exchange Commission electronic filings for public companies and mutual funds in the U.S.
Find Statistical Data
Statistical Data - United States & Washington State
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Suzzallo Reference, GovPubsRef, OUGL Ref HA 202.U56 2011 - annual editions online 1879-2011 - County and City Data Book
GovPubsRef HA202 .A36 - 2007 is most recent edition (pdf version) - State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
GovPubsRef, Suzzallo Ref, OUGL Ref HA202 .S84 2010 is most recent edition (pdf version) - Northwest Area Foundation Indicators Website
"The Indicators Website is a convenient source of information on states and counties, selected communities, reservations, and tribes in the Northwest Area Foundation's eight-state region. Use this site to find the most recent indicators on local population characteristics, economic well-being, health, and more." - King County Community Health Indicators - provides data for King County health indicators, such as: access to health care, environmental risk factors, health outcomes, etc.
- Pierce County Quick Facts Census
View Census data for Pierce County. - Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. (also links to the annual publication Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 1878-2007)
Suzzallo Stacks HA202 .H57 1989 AND HA202 .A385 1975 - ProQuest Statististical Insight [UW restricted] Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Full-text or web links provided for some citations.
- FedStats
Portal to online statistical resources from all federal agencies, e.g. Justice Dept, Health Care, Labor, Transportation, Agriculture, Education, Commerce, etc.
Statistical Data Repositories
Center for Social Science Computation & Research (CSSCR)
Savery Hall, UW Campus. Provide extensive data archive, consultants for a variety of statistical analysis programs (GIS, SASS, SPSS, etc.) and can request data from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) since UW is a member.