Librarians

Judy Tsou info jstsou@u.washington.edu
Verletta Kern vkern@u.washington.edu
John Gibbs (info) gibbs@u.washington.edu
Jackie Belanger jbelanger@uwb.edu
Justin Wadland jwadland@u.washington.edu
Related Libraries
Feedback
Welcome
Welcome to the University of Washington Music Library's Music History Page. Here you will find links to many sites that we have found useful. Subjects covered are: Databases and Indexes, Iconography, Images, Codicology and Manuscript Studies, Research Centers, Societies, Journals, Work Lists, Bibliographies, Sites of General Interest and Sites by Musical Stylistic Periods.
UW WorldCat
Miscellaneous Sites of Interest
- The Classical Music Navigator
- Music History Resources
- The History of Music
- Western Music- A Short History
- Music History Timeline
- The Musical Epochs
- links from American Musicological Society
- Reading and Transcribing White Mensural Notation
- Authenticity in Musical Performance Bernard D. Sherman
- Le Variazoni Chiara Bertoglio
Musical Stylistic Periods
Middle Ages and Antiquity
- Teaching the Middle Ages in the 21st Century Arthur Samplaski on NPR Morning Edition
- A short bibliography of Early Music
- "Origin of Music" Site
- Solesmes Abbey
- Guido of Arezzo (Guido Aretinus)
- Monumenta Musicae Byzantinae
- Ancient Roman Music
- Ancient Greek Music
- Homeric Singing - An Approach to the Original Performance
- Music from the Vatican Exhibit at L.C.
- Medieval Music
- The Gregorian Chant Home Page
- The Cantigas de Santa Maria
- A Memento: The Medieval Recorder
- Introduction to Medieval Music
- Medieval Women and Music
- Adam de la Halle: Jeu de Robin et Marion
- Study Guide for Medieval Love Songs
- Mittelalter / Geistliche Kultur Mittelalter / Bürger & Bauern
- The ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
- Coptic Orthodox Liturgical Chant & Hymnody
Renaissance
- Acadia Early Music Facsimile Archive
- Dowland Ms. Project
- ECOLM: Electronic Corpus of Lute Music
- Database of vocal music of the "French" Renaissance
- Copenhagen Chansonnier
- Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads
- Ricercares a quattro voci by Vincenzo Galilei, 1584
- English Lute Manuscripts and Scribes 1530-1630 Julia Craig-McFeely
- Renaissance Masses: 1440-1520
- Motet Online Database
- C.M.M.E.Project computerized mensural music editing
- Caron website
- Playford: Dancing Master
- Playford, The Dancing Master
- Sixteenth Century Ballads: A work in progress...
- Guide to Early Instruments
- Dulcian
- Racketts
- Rebec
- Serpent Website
Baroque
- Academy of Ancient Music
- Bach Musicological Font
- Lully Project-University of North Texas
- The Ap Huw Mss.
- Eighteenth-Century Resources -- Music
- Mvsica Tolta da i Madrigali contrafacta
- J.S. Bach: Texts of the Complete Vocal Works with English Translation and Commentary Z. Philip Ambrose
Classical
- Eighteenth-Century Resources -- Music
- Shaw and the Don: George Bernard Shaw's Reception of Mozart's Don Giovanni Gareth Cox
- Mozart's Musical Diary Turn the pages of Mozart's Thematic Catalogue
- Das Digitale Beethoven-Haus
Romantic
- Boije Collection of 19th Century guitar music
- Romantic (Period) Music
- Brahms at the Piano
- Putting the Dance Back Into Mazurka Bernard D. Sherman
20th Century
Americana
- American Memory
- American Mavericks
- Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music - Lib. of Congress
- Sheet Music: A Window on 19th-Century California
- Historic American Sheet Music-Duke University
- Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Colection-Johns Hopkins
- Public Domain Music Civil War Music, Foster, Root, Work, Jacobs-Bond, et al
- 19th Century Color Lithographic Sheet Music Covers-Brown University
- 19th-Century American Sheet Music Digitization -UNC, Chapel Hill
- Mission Music
- Dictionary of American Hymnology
Other Sites for Research in Historical Musicology
- The Rosaleen Moldenhauer memorial : music history from primary sources : a guide to the Moldenhauer Archives
- International Hispanic Music Study Group
- Music under Soviet Rule
- The Symphony-an interactive guide
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait