This site suggests resources for research and practice in audio preservation and restoration.
Image: UW Libraries Special Collections
This guide will help you find materials recommended for research and practice in audio preservation and restoration. Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate through the guide.
- Start Your Research - resources and tips for finding articles, books, and more
- Audio Preservation @ UW - local audio preservation and restoration projects
- Analog Formats - resources for cassette, cylinder, record, tape, and wire formats
- Digital Formats - resources for CD, DVD, DAT, and file formats
- Collection Management - resources for assessment, description, reformatting, restoration, copyright, and ethics
- Organizations - organizations and societies related to audio preservation
Top resources, best practices, and standards for audio preservation:
- ARSC Guide to Audio Preservation (2015)
Audio preservation guide (PDF download) created by the Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC), the Council on Library & Information Resources (CLIR), and the National Recording Preservation Board of the Library of Congress. Topics include: audio conservation and preservation, recorded sound formats and their associated risks, appraisal, copyright issues and fair use, digitization and digital content management, and disaster preparedness.
- IASA Guidelines on the Production and Preservation of Digital Audio Objects (2009)
Web edition of IASA-TC04 (Second Edition, 2009), an accepted authority on digital audio preservation in the sound archiving field from the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA). Topics include: preservation formats and systems, metadata and data management, storage and access, and project planning.
- IASA Safeguarding the Audio Heritage: Ethics, Principles and Preservation Strategy (2005)
Web edition of IASA-TC 03 (Version 3, 2005), a set of standards, recommended practices, and strategies from the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA). Also available as a downloadable PDF. Topics include: ethical issues in sound archiving, stability of formats, audio transfer and restoration, and principles of digital archiving.
- MLA Copyright for Music Librarians
A website maintained by the Legislation Committee of the Music Library Association (MLA) addressing issues of copyright as they apply to the fields of music and music librarianship. Content covered includes: summaries of laws and legal decisions, reports and studies, published statements, online resources and bibliography, FAQ and glossary pertaining to music copyright issues.
George Blood, President of Safe Sound Archive, discusses the basics of audio preservation in this segment from the series "A Race Against Time" by the Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts (CCAHA).
Complete series information and additional video links can be found on the CCAHA website.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
UW Ethnomusicology Archives
School of Music
University of Washington
Music Building, Room 41
Seattle, WA 98195